Fiji – aircraft on stamps – Part I  

Hello,  yes a new series.  Took me a while to decide but here it is Fiji.  Some interesting stamps in the earlier issues from the 1950s through 1970s.  After that too many issues so with one exception  I hope you enjoy seeing the stamps and the aircraft I have selected

This first stamp, issued in 1954, shows Nadi airport and a Comet and a Boeing 707.  A year or so ago I wrote a series on the Comet.   So I won’t repeat all that about the aircraft.  I visited the airport when it looked like this. So fond memories from all those years ago.    One little bit of trivia for you.  In 1963 a Pan Am 707 flying Nadi LAX set a new commercial flight speed record flying the sector in under three hours. There is so much to read about those years and especially the 707.   Try this one if you have the time. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/air-space-magazine/707-flight-changed-everything-180971219/

More Fiji over the coming week.  I hope you join me.

Michael  cddstamps.com …. Please visit my online store https://www.hipstamp.com/store/cddstamps    where I have some interesting aviation related covers and stamps.