Welcome, and yes this is the final piece in the US aircraft on stamps series.   I think my longest series but then there are just so many stamps to choose from, and I have only shown a selection of issues up to 1952.  We’d be here for ever if I kept going  😊

To finish I am showing this stamp which is rather special.   Yes this breaks the 1950s and earlier trend as it was issued in 1968,  but  what a lovely little aircraft.  I could write plenty about it but I will leave it to you to find out more…. Perhaps.

The competition.  First Prize, a set of the three 1949 Universal Postal Union stamps which I showed in Part XII.  Scroll back a few pages    Then 5 runner up prizes of this stamp.

How to win, just send an answer to cddstamps@ gmail.com   The question to answer:

Is the  “Curtiss Jenny” really the correct name of the aircraft?   Yes or No will do, but by all means impress  me with your research! I will give each entry a number as they arrive in the mail box and using a random number generator will choose the first 6 numbers. Closing date for entries is October 7th 2023.

Just some trivia: the stamp commemorated the 50th anniversary of the first regularly scheduled air mail  service and was issued in Washington, DC, on May 15, 1968.  The aircraft shown on the stamp was the actual one that carried mail on the Washington-New York City run when air mail was first established on May 15, 1918.    You can read the registration 38262 on the side of the aircraft.  This will make your reading even more interesting   https://www.thisdayinaviation.com/tag/s-c-38262/ The stamp was designed by Hordur Karlsson and was printed in black on the Giori press.  The blue background and blue and red rudder segments were printed by lithography.  It was issued in panes of 50 with a quantity of 60,000,000.  So I have a few I can give away 😊

What next?. Readers idea are most welcomed. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks for reading my series.   I hope to get at least 6 competition entries 😊

Michael  cddstamps.com …. Please visit my online store https://www.hipstamp.com/store/cddstamps    where I have some interesting aviation related covers and stamps.