Fiji – aircraft on stamps – Part II  

Hello, welcome back, Part II and two of the three stamps from the 1964 issue to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the first Fiji -Tonga Airmail service.

This, with the 3d value, shows the Short S.30  modified G class flying boat ZK-AMA. It was flown by Tasman Empire Airways and named Aotearoa – which means long white cloud.

A rather lovely stamp in my view and certainly an aircraft with a fascinating operational history which I  seriously recommend reading from here   https://aussieairliners.org/shortfb/zk-ama/zkama.html  If only to see some brilliant images of the aircraft back in the 1930s and 1940s.  the website is very clear that it is “illegal” to copy their images so I won’t risk anyone’s rath, but I do recommend a look. Some brilliant photographs.

Finding history of this flight has proven a challenge but I did find this – as part of the Tasman Empire Airways plan to set up a regular trans Tasman service between Australia and New Zealand the Aotearoa operated. a survey flight between New Zealand and Fiji in September 1939 – with no official mail carried to Tonga – then a second flight  from Suva to Nukualofa (in Tonga) on 21st October 1939 and then on the 23rd October on to Auckland.  It carried approximately 2000 letters to Auckland from Suva and 250 from Nukualofa. If any readers can improve on that or correct me I welcome  emails.

The second stamp shows a de Haviland Heron of Fiji Airways as well as the Short S.30. I have written about the Heron before,  so just a brief reminder then; it was a British propeller aircraft  that first flew in May 1950  and was a development of the Dove with a stretched fuselage and two additional engines.  I am not sure why the Heron is being shown; I welcome thoughts on that one?

More Fiji over the coming week.  I hope you join me.

Michael  cddstamps.com …. Please visit my online store https://www.hipstamp.com/store/cddstamps    where I have some interesting aviation related covers and stamps.