Fiji – aircraft on stamps – Part VII  

Hello,  moving to 1978 and the Aviation Anniversaries issue.  4 stamps, 2 showing the Southern Cross, a Fokker F.VII/3m which was incorrectly described on the stamps, another showing a  Wright Flyer and one showing a Bristol F28.  I show them all but in my view not that impressive a selection even if they are all for memorable aviation achievements for the issue theme.

I have written about the Southern Cross many times and also the Wright Flyer so let’s have a brief look at the Bristol F28.  It was a British WW I fighter biplane also used as a reconnaissance aircraft.  It had the nicknames, Brisfit or Biff.    Development of the initial version saw it become a successful single seater fighter aircraft and it remained operational into the early 1930s.  What it or the Wright Flyer has to do with Fiji is still something I am trying to fathom out!!!!

 More during the week.  It has to get better,  right!!!!

Michael  cddstamps.com …. Please visit my online store https://www.hipstamp.com/store/cddstamps    where I have some interesting aviation related covers and stamps.