png-plane-1967

Hello, welcome to Friday. Time for some aviation and stamps.  I found this today and thought you might enjoy seeing it.   It is SG 117 from the 1967 Anniversary of the Pacific War issue from Papua New Guinea. It shows a  Curtiss P40K Kittyhawk of the Royal Australian Air Force.   As an aside, the stamp was issued 50 years ago and basically has no value, catalogued at 20p MUH and 10p Used.   Amazing really but just goes to show, no investment by those who collected back then expecting a value increase.  Anyway I ramble…….

The aircraft  – it was an American single-engined, single-seat, all-metal fighter  that first flew in 1938 and was used by most Allied powers during World War II. I remained in service until the end of the war. It was the third most-produced American fighter.   It made me think of a Spitfire…..      perhaps I was just thinking of them because they were dues to fly some airshows in the UK this month but, along with a Lancaster and some other Battle of Britain fighter planes, have been grounded with engine problems.

Have a great philatelic weekend,  I hope you are not grounded LOL  🙂  and, I just have to tell you, if you are looking to fill some gaps in your stamp collection please visit my online store. I know there are hundreds and hundreds of online shops these days but I think cddstamps offers something different in quality, price and service. Try us just once please 🙂   How else am I going to fund my flying and aerophilately 🙂  just joking….   visit us here   or copy this link to your browser   https://www.hipstamp.com/store/cddstamps     or read more at our website  cddstamps.com 

Best wishes   Michael  cddstamps.com

