sin-75c

Hello, one more from the Singapore issue I have been showing recently. This showing Changi Terminal 1 which was opened in 1981 – yes that long ago.  Also with a Boeing 747-200 which made its debut in Terminal 1.

Today you won’t see many 747s at all. I saw one on Hong Kong yesterday. Bit of a novelty really.  It was first flown in 1970. I remember seeing the first one come into Manchester (then Ringway) Airport on a proving flight in August 1970. A BOAC plane.  Argghh nostalgia!

Perhaps a little competition quiz. Easy one I hope. What airline was the launch customer for the first model 747?  send your answer to cddstamps@gmail.com. I will pick a winner at random in a few days and mail a small selection of stamps showing aircraft on the stamps.

Have a great weekend.  Michael  cddstamps.com

