gb-jet-engine-SG-754

Hello, I made reference the other evening to the introduction of the jet engine. Tonight I came across this stamp, so thought I would share it with you.

It is SG 754 from the 1967 British Discovery and Invention issue. Rather nice I think.

It is not too difficult to identify the aircraft, airline and engines is it? I remember this aircraft well, nostalgia eh!

It is a Vickers VC10 with BOAC livery. The VC10  was a long range plane designed and built by Vickers Armstrong and first flown in 1962. The plane was designed to BOAC requirements I believe, which included being able to operate economically on long-distance routes from shorter runways and with the capability for hot and high operations such as at African airports.

As for performance the VC10 achieved the fastest crossing of the Atlantic by a jet airliner, a record still held I believe for a sub-sonic plane, of 5 hours and 1 minute; only the Concorde has flown the route faster.

There is also another plane shown on the stamp. So for a competition, what is it?   send your answer to me at cddstamps@gmail.com with your mailing address and I will send the recipient of the first correct answer a small selection of aviation stamps.

Enjoy your stamps and aerophilately.   Best wishes       Michael    cddstamps.com

