vickers-valiant-montserrat

Hello, Friday evening here in Hong Kong and looking through some stamps I saw this one.

It had me thinking; was this what I saw fly at Temora some years ago?  If it was it was pretty impressive I recall.

The image is of a Vickers Valiant, a British jet bomber which was once part of the Royal Air Force’s V bomber force in the 1950s and 1960s. The Valiant was the first of the V bombers to become operational. It was followed by the Handley Page Victor, and the Avro Vulcan

It was found to have premature fatiguing and inter-crystalline corrosion in the wing spar attachment castings and was retired in 1965. That doesn’t mean to me there was not one restored to fly in airshows. Anyway it had me enjoying the memory.

It was one of a set of 4 individual stamps issued in 1993 to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the Royal Air Force.There was also a Miniature Sheet  showing 4 other aircraft.

Have a great weekend

Michael    cddstamps.com

 

 

 

