hkg-penang--lhr-cover-1936

Hello,  some of you know I like to treat myself at Christmas and here is one of my presents, from me to me!

This is a cover flown on the first return flight from Hong Kong via Penang to London in 1936. This, as you can see from the cachet, was the first through flight from Hong Kong to London. From Hong Kong Kai Tak  it was flown on an Imperial Airways,  DH-86  The RMA Dorado, under the command of Captain John H Lock  This followed from Imperial Airways starting their London Hong Kong route on 23rd March that year.

If this interests you I highly recommend reading http://industrialhistoryhk.org/air-mails-hong-kong-imperial-airways-service/

I like this cover – there are plenty of collector covers from this flight I believe – because it is the Imperial Airways souvenir cover and has a nice margin corner pair of SG 126.

Have a great weekend,  Best wishes…Michael

cddstamps.com

