kiribate-12c-plane

Hello, been a while since I wrote so I hope this stamp and aircraft interests you.  As you can see, it is from Kiribati, an island in the Pacific. I am sure the place had another name once but I forget and cannot be bothered to look it up.

The aircraft  on the stamp is a de Havilland DH114 Heron. Awesome little plane which I think I may have flown on many years ago: see last picture for why I think I did fly on one , or two  or more.

Anyway, the Heron was a small (and yes British)  propeller aircraft that first flew on 10 May 1950. It was a development of the twin-engine de Havilland Dove  with a stretched fuselage  (seated  14 passengers I think) and two more engines. It was designed as a rugged, conventional low-wing monoplane with tricycle undercarriage that could be used on regional and commuter routes. 150 were built.   Love the BEA logo!  So nostalgic !

heron-scottish-airways

Have a great weekend.  Michael    cddstamps.com

 

