Happy New Year everyone, I just realised I have not written for a while. Been a bit busy as always.

This cover, not actually an aerophilatelic cover, just an aviation view, so I think that qualifies, and anyway I write so I make my own rules :-), anyway, this cover because I was reading about the Qantas New Years Day flight to Antarctica. Seems it was very enjoyable for all on board. They would have seen this view from what I read. Assume you know the location.

This cover is one of three I have, cancelled Davis , the other two cancelled Casey and Mawson. Now since I think collecting stamps is more than just collecting stamps……… did you know……….

The main treaty was opened for signature on December 1, 1959, and officially entered into force on June 23, 1961. The original signatories were the 12 countries active in Antarctica during the International Geophysical Year (IGY) of 1957–58. The twelve countries had significant interests in Antarctica at the time: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom and the United States. These countries had established over 50 Antarctic stations for the IGY. Davis, Casey and Mawson being three from Australia. The treaty was a diplomatic expression of the operational and scientific cooperation that had been achieved “on the ice”.

Hope you have a great 2015.

Best wishes.. Michael