chile-20

Hello, it’s been a while since I wrote, internet problems have not helped. Anyway I hope you like seeing this stamp. It is from the Chile 1934 issue, SG 238 I believe.

It shows a Fokker Super Universal. This plane was produced in the United States in the late 1920s, an enlarged and improved version of the Fokker Universal, fitted with cantilever wings and an enclosed cockpit. It was subsequently also manufactured under licence in Canada and Japan.

It was a conventional, high-wing cantilever monoplane with a fully enclosed flight deck and cabin and a fixed undercarriage. Improvements over its forerunner included an enclosed cockpit and a new wing that eliminated the requirement for struts, bringing it in line with the rest of Fokker’s designs.

Why it is on a stamp from Chile I have no idea as I can find no reference to it being used in Chile. Perhaps someone will know.

Enjoy your aviation stamps. Best wishes… Michael
http://www.cddstamps.com

