philippine-rein-cover

Hello, tonight another cover which I hope you will enjoy seeing. This is one of my Christmas presents to myself. It arrived yesterday. Rather quicker than I expected.

It is, as you can see, a Rein flight Madrid-Manila signed cover.

In 1932-1933 the Spanish aviator Fernado Rein y Loring made two remarkable flights from Madrid to Manila in a miniature Comper- Swift single seater plane with a 50hp engine. The Philippines  issued a special airmail set to mark his achievement and this cover  was for that issue. It is autographed by the Rein and,  I am led to believe, it is quite  scarce.

All ten stamps from the issue are on the cover. The stamps were actually part of a set first issued in 1906  showing various portraits of mostly as far as I can tell US Presidents.

Now for those who really want to know, I am looking for the 1926 Madrid Manila overprints.   Be interesting to see what they are fetching on the market as the catalogue value is around  £5000 i think, or there abouts. Must  get a lottery ticket for Christmas as well.

Oh, and I have to remind you, if you have not bought yourself a Christmas present yet, do have a look at www.cddstamps.com and my Store. You could spend say $20 to get a good selection of some 30 stamps to fill gaps in your collection and get my customer Christmas present for free.  Of course, you could spend more on some of my more expensive stock of Hong Kong QV, for example, and help me pay for my own Christmas present 🙂

 

Have a great weekend.. Michael

www.cddstamps.com

 

 

