japan-dc4

Hello, another weekend nearly over but with time to write. I found this while sorting some stock today.  One of a set of 11 issued by Japan in 1951.  Of interest, I think,  is that the set is catalogued at £110  in my 2009 catalogue and the same in the 2013 catalogue. That surprised me,  I would have thought it would have increased in value over 4 years.  Anyway it shows a DC4 flying over Horyuji Pagoda.

For a change I won’t write about the DC4 – you all know about that aircraft I am sure by now. But the temple is very interesting.

The Temple of the Flourishing Law is a Buddhist a temple that was once one of the powerful Seven Great Temples in Ikarunga, Japan Its full name is Hōryū Gakumonji or Learning Temple of the Flourishing Law. The temple’s pagoda is widely acknowledged to be one of the oldest wooden buildings existing in the world because of the wood used in its construction.  The temple seen today is on the site, I believe, of the original which was built around 670.

The five-story pagoda stands at 122 feet in height.  The wood used in the center pillar of the pagoda is estimated through a dendrochronological analysis to have been felled in 594. The central pillar rests three meters below the surface of the massive foundation stone, stretching into the ground. At its base is enshrined what is believed to be a fragment of one of Buddha’s bones. Around it, four sculpted scenes from the life of the Buddha face north, east, south and west. Although the pagoda is five-storied, it does not allow one to climb up inside, but it is rather designed to inspire people with its external view.

Stamp collecting is as interesting as you make it I guess 🙂

Best wishes,    Michael

http://www.cddstamps.com

