pal-dc6-reverse manila-1948

I read that my good friend Philip is in Manila this weekend so thought I would show a cover for him and his visit, and give a little aviation history at the same time.

On July 31, 1946, PAL became the first Asian airline to cross the Pacific Ocean when a chartered Douglas DC4 ferried 40 American servicemen to Oakland California from Nielson Airport with stops in Guam, Wake Island, Johnston Atoll and Honolulu.  A regular service between Manila and San Francisco started in December 1946.  During this time, the airline was designated as the country’s flag carrier.

This Air Mail cover, flown nearly two years later, was for the inaugural DC6 flight. It was flown from Manila to Honolulu (back stamped as you can see)

I have tried to research this inaugural flight but cannot find reference to it. I did find a reference to Philippine Air Lines operating a DC6 from San Francisco to Manila on June 4th, 1948 with the first sleeper service, which would have been the return flight of this inaugural.

One thing I did find while searching Google, was that I actually wrote about and showed this cover back in February 2013. Oh well, maybe I have new readers and since I have written this I am showing it anyway.

 Have a great weekend, especially you Philip, in Manila.

 Michael

http://www.cddstamps.com

