Image

Hello,  something different tonight and the first time I have posted an envelope without a stamps on it I think. And the first time I have posted a crash cover.  This was a cover I got in an auction here in Hong Kong a few weeks ago. It will be part of an Exhibition frame I am preparing, yes on aviation and aerophilately over the past 100 years

It is a 1953 metered  aerogram from Hong Kong to England from the “Comet” crash, showing violet “Salvaged Mail/Comet Crash near Calcutta/2nd May 1953” in very fine condition (considering it was from a plane crash of course).  This crash was recorded as the first Comet crash but in fact was the second in which there were fatalities. The first being on 3 March 1953, when a new Canadian Pacific Airlines Comet 1A failed to get airborne.while attempting a night takeoff from Karachi, Pakistan, on a delivery flight to Australia.  

So this was the from the first commercial flight crash. 

Comments?  or information to pass on to me would be most gratefully received.  email as always at cddstamps@gmail.com

Best wishes .. Michael

http://www.cddstamps.com

