Image

Hi, yes am back again, where does the time go since I last wrote. Well partly it has gone with me loading another 400 lots to my Bidstart Store.  If GB is your collecting interest do have a look  http://www.cddstamps.com/bidstart_store.htm    as there are another 300 completely new lots. But perhaps enjoying this about the first Trans-Pacific Flight, which this cover celebrates. Nice cover I think.

And before I tell you about the flight, sorry I do not know the why, how and when for the A340-600 undercarriage .. I am hoping to learn from you 🙂   I will guess the why is because of airframe weight and spread for MTOW maybe?   and the when is therefore, and I am really guessing here, when the weight is at or close to Max Take off weight  but I thought the bogie was always down..   what do I know hehehehehe   I will ask the crew on the flight back maybe 🙂 so how?   well that has me stumped..  how about pressing a button in the cockpit 🙂

Ok to the Trans-Pacific flight.

In 1928, Kingsford Smith and Charles Ulm arrived in the United States and began to search for an aircraft.   Australian polar explorer Sir Hubert Wilkins sold them a Fokker F.VII/3m monoplane, which they named the southern Cross

 At 8:54 a.m. on 31 May 1928, Kingsford Smith and his 4-man crew left Oakland, California, to attempt the first trans-Pacific flight to Australia. The flight was in three stages. The first, from Oakland to Wheeler Army Airfield, Hawaii was 3,870 kilometres (2,400 mi), taking an uneventful 27 hours 25 minutes (87.54mph). They took off from Barking Sands on Mana, Kauai, since the runway at Wheeler was not long enough. They headed for Suva, Fiji, 5,077 kilometres (3,155 mi) away, taking 34 hours 30 minutes (91.45mph). This was the most demanding portion of the journey, as they flew through a massive lightning storm near the equator.The third leg was the shortest, 2,709 kilometres (1,683 mi) in 20 hours (84.15mph), and crossed the Australian coastline near Ballina  before turning north to fly 170 kilometres (110 mi) to Brisbane, where they landed at 10.50 a.m. on 9 June. The total flight distance was approximately 11,566 kilometres (7,187 mi)

Awesome when you think about it.

Safe flying and enjoy your aerophilately.

Michael

 

