Hello, this lovely stamp from Argentina tonight. Issued in 1959 to commemorate the inaugul Comet service by Aerolíneas Argentinas. Actually a Comet 4B.

Interesting history to the Comet acquisition. It was actually the first aircraft ordered by the company even though the airline had been flying for 10 years. And, although the Comet had begun commercial jet services worldwide by the end of the 1950s, Aerolíneas Argentinas was first overseas airline to order the type. This was the first jet to be flown by Aerolíneas and was named Las Tres Marías with the first flight landing at Ezeiza Airport on 2 March 1959.

Now I have not had a quiz for some time so I think it is about time I had one. Winner will get a First Flight Cover, flown on the inaugural Malaysia Airlines A380 from Kuala Lumpur to London on 1st July subject to me making the flight and MH actually flying it. But that is my plan and I have a confirmed seat I might add, and theirs too I am sure.
To enter just send me the answer to the question below, and your mailing address. You must include mailing address as I do not keep addresses usually and I will not misuse the fact you have given me the address.

When Aerolíneas introduced the Comet on the Buenos Aires to New York sector they were replacing a DC-6 with the Comet – what did they expect the flight time to reduce from and to. That is, your answer must be in the form, for example, from 3 hours 15 minutes to 1 hour 20 minutes, or whatever you think is the right answer.. OK. Winner will be chosen at random from all entries received by 29th June, mid day Hong Kong time and announced early July on my return from London. Winner will have the cover posted later in July as I have to wait to get the covers franked on arrival in London and then sent back to me.

This to finish, a picture of that first Aerolíneas Comet.

Enjoy your stamps and your flying

